I’m So Pumped!

#27 (Make all 2013 Christmas gifts by hand) is coming along nicely! I did a lot of research yesterday to see what I might be able to make people that won’t A) break the bank or B) cause me to have a mental breakdown. Like I mentioned before, I’m not the most creative individual but surprisingly, I actually know my way around a lot of crafty things. Growing up my mom forced my sister and I to be a part of “Girl’s Club.” We would get together once a month for about four hours to focus on a topic….sometimes it was a craft, other times it was an activity or a skill. I remember doing cross-stitch, horseback riding, macrame, latch hook, etiquette classes, sewing classes, swimming and knitting just to name a few. At the time, I HATED going. I felt like I didn’t have anything in common with the other girls and I was too much of a tomboy to enjoy it or TRY to enjoy it. One time, we did a tea party at a local tea room with crumpets and scones (I still think they are gross though)….we were all supposed to “dress appropriately”…dresses, gloves, hats with feathers, prissy shoes. I showed up in my jeans with a cowboy hat on. I can still remember the picture they took afterwards….everyone else batting their eyelashes and posing. I was standing in the middle with my hat and a small smile (just because my mom gave me the stink eye.) I’m still very much the same person…I’m always in my jeans, cowboy boots and a simple t-shirt but as an adult, I appreciate the skills that I learned and I’m glad my mom made me go. These experiences made me a well rounded individual, and now that I’m taking on hand made gifts, I don’t feel completely lost. I can’t post my Christmas list here since I  have nosy family members who read this, however, I promise that after the holidays, I will post pictures of all the finished products and where I found the instructions for each! I’m so excited though. I have a group of friends who were also inspired to work on handmade items, so we are planning a “girl’s club” day to work on the crafts together…it’s always more fun when you can screw up with other people…you tend to be less critical of yourself. Plus….wine and crafts never hurt no body (Yes, Mom….I understand that was bad grammar.)

Posted on October 25, 2013, in #27, My List, The Thoreau Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment